Spurs Odyssey Banner

Over 25 years of archives at Spurs Odyssey

Main Page
News and views from Paul Smith, and links to the interactive features of the Spurs Odyssey Site. [more..]
Features
Articles, reports, views, opinions, comments and other features all related to Spurs. [more..]
News

Harry Hotspur's Tribute Pages to the late great Bill Nicholson

Match Reports
Spurs Odyssey offers!

Spurs Odyssey Reviews the Premiership Season
for 2010-2011 - Match 25
Better than last year!

It was Match 26 on the Premier League programme, but Spurs have played just 25 of their games, with their game in hand against Blackpool still scheduled for Tuesday 22nd February. Mind you, we'll be playing catch up again within days, because the Arsenal game will have to be re-scheduled due to their involvement in the Carling Cup Final. When it does take place, that "Derby" game promises to be hotter than ever!

Whilst every match in this league is a potential banana skin (witness this week-end's Wolves win over unbeaten United), it is interesting to highlight remaining fixtures where the top five teams play each other, and the Dalglish-inspired resurgent Liverpool.


Man Utd
12.02.11  Man City (H)
05.03.11  Liverpool(A)
30.04.11  Arsenal  (A)
07.05.11  Chelsea  (H)
T.B.A     Chelsea  (A)

Arsenal
16.04.11  Liverpool(H)
30.04.11  Man Utd  (H)
T.B.A     Spurs    (A)

Man City
12.02.11  Man Utd  (A)
19.03.11  Chelsea  (A)
09.04.11  Liverpool(A)
16.04.11  Spurs    (H)

Chelsea
19.03.11  Man City (H)
30.04.11  Spurs    (H)
07.05.11  Man Utd  (A)
T.B.A     Man Utd  (H)

Spurs
16.04.11  Man City (A)
30.04.11  Chelsea  (A)
14.04.11  Liverpool(A)
T.B.A     Arsenal  (H)
In Spurs' case, 7 of our remaining games are against the bottom 6 teams, and we all know how tricky it can be playing against a team fighting to get out of the relegation zone! Let's just concentrate then for the moment on a win at Sunderland on Saturday. A draw would see us gain our 1000th Premier League point. Only Everton of the other 6 ever-present teams in the Premier League are below us in this particular statistical table.

The over-riding point to make with 13 games to play is that the answer to the question "Can we make the Top Four again?" is a resounding "Yes, we can!"


Results 05-06.02.11

A. Villa   2-2   Fulham
Everton    5-3   Blackpool
Man City   3-0   West Brom
Newcastle  4-4   Arsenal
Stoke      3-2   S'derland
Spurs      2-1   Bolton
Wigan      4-3   Blackburn
Wolves     2-1   Man Utd
West Ham   0-1   Birmingham
Chelsea    0-1   Liverpool


       Barclays Premier League
 
Pos Team      P  W  D  L   F  A  GD  Pts

1  Man Utd   25 15  9  1  55 24  31  54
2  Arsenal   25 15  5  5  54 27  27  50
3  Man City  26 14  7  5  42 22  20  49
4  Chelsea   25 13  5  7  46 22  24  44
5  Spurs     25 12  8  5  35 27   8  44
6  Liverpool 26 11  5 10  34 31   3  38
7  S'derland 26  9 10  7  32 31   1  37
8  Bolton    26  8  9  9  36 37  -1  33
9  Stoke     25 10  3 12  31 32  -1  33
10 Newcastle 25  8  7 10  40 38   2  31
11 Blackburn 26  9  4 13  34 42  -8  31
12 Fulham    26  6 12  8  28 28   0  30
13 Everton   25  6 12  7  33 34  -1  30
14 A. Villa  26  7  8 11  30 45 -15  29
15 Blackpool 25  8  4 13  38 49 -11  28
16 B'mingham 24  5 12  7  24 33  -9  27
17 West Brom 25  7  5 13  31 48 -17  26
18 Wigan     26  5 11 10  26 44 -18  26
19 Wolves    25  7  3 15  26 43 -17  24
20 West Ham  26  5  9 12  27 45 -18  24

This week last year

Top of page | Back to Review Index
Statistics
Fixtures, appearances, current league table, form guide, reserves fixtures, and Spurs Honours. [more..]
Archives
Find match reports, appearances, goalscorers and features from previous seasons. [more..]
Pick of the Week
Every week we select a Spurs related site from the whole world wide web and highlight it in this section. [more..]
Links
View a comprehensive list of links to other Spurs related sites. (With a few extras) [more..]
About this site
Overview
History
Contributors
Contacts
Site Owner
Paul Smith

We use cookies to personalise content and ads, to provide social media features and to analyse our traffic. We also share information about your use of our site with our social media, advertising and analytics partners. Full details van be found via the Spurs Odyssey Privacy Policy